As I see 2013

It’s good to remember that in crises, natural crises, human beings forget for awhile their ignorance, their biases, and their prejudices. For a little while, neighbors help neighbors and strangers help strangers.

Dr. Maya Angelou

Hope

Before we knew it another year is drawing to a close. Every year we resolve to try out new things or at least do things differently as a way to simplify our lives. We look forward to the New Year hoping something magical happens to us and that we live in bliss. But does life become simpler or get more complicated?

For me 2013 was a tumultuous year, perhaps the worst in every way imaginable, with too many ups and downs. These bitter experiences will be etched in my heart like the pre-historic pictographs or carvings—most of them will be lodged on my subconscious to be retrieved by what psychologists call “stressors”.

People presented themselves to me in different forms. Sometimes their behavior would be beyond my comprehension. The more I would try to understand them, the more perplexed and confused I would be. As I look back, I can see that during numerous occasions I experienced the worst nightmares that anybody could think of. Most of the times, I would wake up with bad mood or find it difficult to fall asleep.

Was 2013 always this gloomy?

No. In fact it’s getting well again and I anticipate I will work my way up to the point to ensure that it stays the way it is and gets even better in 2014 and beyond. With the unconditional love and support of my family, I am sure I will not falter or go weak before adversaries.

The reason I placed the Maya Angelou quote at the beginning of the article is that while we can be the most selfish beings in the world, we can also be the most humane ones during trying circumstances. Just consider the case of typhoon Haiyan that ravaged villages in the Philippines which brought all of us together to help those in crisis.

Lessons I learned

I believe we are no different than our ancestors who survived the attacks of more dangerous and menacing predators and harsh weather conditions as well. It’s a dog-eat-dog world after all. If you have it in you, you survive; if you don’t, you will take the coward’s road.

As much as I regretted in the past for not being able to understand people, I feel at ease for the same fact today. As they say unpredictability is hallmark of human behavior, I give these folks the benefit of doubt.

As morning shows the day, I have this positive feeling already that 2014 will be a fulfilling and energizing year for me. And I wish the same to you. Let’s give ourselves a chance to stay stronger and support each other.

So let’s welcome 2014 into our lives with renewed vigor and enthusiasm. Happy New Year 🙂 !!!

