What better time than now!

“I am the master of my fate and the captain of my destiny.”

—Nelson Mandela

Nelson Mandela

These immortal words by the greatest enigma mankind has ever known inspired me to break my silence and get out of my solitude. Though there is no denying the fact that this solitude gave me an opportunity to muse at all that happened in the past, trying to fight my inner demons and cope up with the harsh realities of life on my own brought tremendous frustrations.

It was frustrating not to be able to wake up in the morning (not winter Dysania) with the overbearing feeling of what my life will be like in the days to come. For some part of the hiatus, it was a gratifying experience for me to keep myself aloof from the rest of the world. But then this would be overshadowed with the feeling of not being able to bring my life back on track.

I spent my days thinking long and hard at my tomfoolery. I would hit my pillow, swear at myself for all the things that didn’t go well and cringe at the feeling of what my life would be in the days to come. I do not blame anybody except myself for all the misery in my life.

However, it brought huge solace to my heart to think that this was not the first time I experienced a crisis in my life. Those near to me think it was a great miracle to have survived a near-fatal accident in 2006. My limbs were broken but the conviction in me to move on was not. That, to my strongest belief, must have been the greatest reason as to why I am not handicapped.

It’s a truth universally acknowledged that ups and downs are the part and parcel of life.  Some may not find a certain situation as gloomy as others would. It’s all about attitude.

Nelson Mandela truly said that we are the creators of our fate. From today on I see myself carving a new path in my life. Keeping to myself was one of the heart-rending tests I endured. It’s time for liberation and what better time than now.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Baby steps to co-creating a symbiotic environment in my company | Ideas abound